Thank you for sharing this page.

Who we are
EUA is governed by three main bodies:
  • A Board elected for four years, comprising nine current or former rectors, including a President and two Vice-Presidents who constitute the Presidency. 
  • A Council constituted by the presidents of the national rectors’ conferences.
  • The General Assembly elects the President and Board and determines the strategic direction of the association.
EUA's Secretariat based in Brussels and Geneva, managed by the Secretary General, ensures the daily management and implementation of all EUA's activities.

The Presidency is comprised of the President and the two Vice-Presidents. The President holds office for four years and is not eligible for re-election. The Vice-Presidents deputise for the President in his absence.


Prof. Rolf Tarrach, University of Luxembourg


Prof. Martine Rahier, University of Neuchâtel
Prof. Paul Boyle, University of Leicester

The Board is comprised of the President and eight members (including the Vice-Presidents), who are current or former rectors. The Board meets at least three times a year and is responsible for the preparation and implementation of the association's policy and the planning of its activities.


The Council is comprised of the President, the members of the Board, and the chairpersons or nominated representatives of all the full collective members of the association, as listed below.

Council members

  • Austria Prof. Eva Blimlinger, President, Universities Austria  
  • Belgium Prof. Vincent Blondel, President, Rectors’ Conference, French Community of Belgium
  • Belgium Prof. Herman Van Goethem, President, Flemish Interuniversity Council
  • Croatia Prof. Vlado Guberac, President, Croatian Rectors’ Conference
  • Cyprus Prof. George Demosthenous, President, Cyprus Rectors’ Conference
  • Czech Republic Prof. Tomáš Zima, President, Permanent Representative, Czech Rectors Conference
  • Denmark Prof. Anders Overgaard Bjarklev, President, University of Denmark
  • Estonia Prof. Tiit Land, President, Universities Estonia
  • Finland Prof. Jukka Mönkkönen, President, Universities Finland - UNIFI
  • France Prof. Gilles Roussel, President, Conference of University Presidents
  • Germany Prof. Horst Hippler, President, German Rectors’ Conference
  • Greece Prof. Pericles Mitkas, Rector, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Prof. Venetsana Kyriazopoulou, Rector, University of Patras
  • Holy See Prof. fr. Mauro Mantovani, President, Conference of Rectors of Roman Pontifical Universities
  • Hungary Prof. József Bódis, President, Hungarian Rectors’ Conference
  • Iceland Prof. Jon Atli Benediktsson, President, National Rectors’ Conference in Iceland 
  • Ireland Dr. Andrew Deeks, Representative, Irish Universities Association
  • Italy Prof. Gaetano Manfredi, President, Conference of Italian University Rectors  
  • Latvia Prof. Arvids Barševskis, President, Latvian Rectors’ Council
  • Lithuania Prof. Artūras Žukauskas, President, Lithuanian University Rectors’ Conference 
  • Luxembourg Prof. Stéphane Pallage, President, University of Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands Dr Pieter Duisenberg, President, Association of Universities in the Netherlands
  • Norway Prof. Inge Jan Henjesand, Representative, Norwegian Association for Higher Education Institutions
  • Poland Prof. Jan Szmidt, President, Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland
  • Portugal Prof. António Fontainhas , President, Portuguese National Conference of Rectors
  • Romania Prof. Sorin Cimpeanu, President, Romanian Council of Rectors
  • Serbia Prof. Vladimir Bumbasirevic, President, Conference of the Universities of Serbia
  • Slovak Republic Prof. Marek Šmid, President, Slovak Rectors’ Conference
  • Slovenia Prof. Danilo Zavrtanik, President, Slovenian Rectors’ Conference
  • Spain Prof. Roberto Fernández, President, The Conference of the Rectors of the Spanish Universities
  • Sweden Prof. Helen Dannetun, President, Association of Swedish Higher Education
  • Switzerland Prof. Michael Hengartner, President, swissuniversities
  • Turkey Prof. Yekta Sarac, President, Turkish University Rectors’ Conference
  • United Kingdom Prof. Janet Beer, President, Universities UK
General Assembly 2011
Photo: Lars Kruse/AU Kommunikation

The General Assembly is comprised of all full members and associate members. The General Assembly meets at least once per year with only full members being entitled to vote. A full list of EUA members is available from the EUA members’ directory

EUA members can download documents related to the General Assembly through the EUA Community which can be accessed through the EUA homepage.

Secretary General’s Office

Tel. +32 (0)2 230 55 44

Research & Innovation

Tel. +32 (0)2 743 11 83

Governance, Funding and Public Policy Development

Tel. +32 (0)2 743 11 47

Higher Education Policy

Tel. +32 (0)2 743 11 35

Institutional Development

Tel. +32 (0)2 743 11 57

Communications, Membership & Public Affairs

Tel. +32 (0)2 230 55 44

Administration & Finance

Tel. +32 (0)2 230 55 44

EUA Advisers

European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96